Colour & Contrast – you are invited!

Art, Exhibition

You are invited to the Private View of our new exhibition, which will be held on Friday 11th August from 6.00-7.30 pm. Come and meet Jo and Zofia, view the paintings and ceramics, talk about our art and your own, and generally be sociable with other arty types.

We are both long term residents of Glastonbury and have known each other since our children were at school. Many years ago we went to Barcelona together for a long weekend and Zofia introduced me to the joys of Miro, Tapies and Gaudi, a visual education that made me think ‘Yes, I can’ and was part of my initial impetus into art education. A foundation and art degree followed, and it is now eight years since my first exhibition at Blue Cedar (Head Space in 2015). When Paul, the proprietor, recently asked me if I’d like to do another, I immediately thought of sharing it with Zofia.

Her work is vibrant, energetic and colourful, with elements of formal abstraction but based on an understanding of figure and landscape. She studied at Leeds Jacob Kraemer college followed by Cardiff, but bringing up a family pushed her artistic career into the background until now. I had no early art training but came to it after my children had grown, studying at Yeovil college and Bath Spa university. We are both coming into our own in later life, in a community of supportive older women whose talents are finally flourishing.

I will be showing ceramics, sculpture from found materials, and maybe some very recent work in 2D combining paint and collage techniques. If Zofia provides the Colour, then mine is the Contrast, using a limited palette of earthy colours and a focus on texture and idea. My work is both conceptual and expressive, where process is more important than a desired outcome. My forms are more organic than designed and I find out what was in my mind or experience by observing the end product.

The exhibition runs for six weeks from 12th August until 30th September. Do call by if you are anywhere near Glastonbury, UK. We look forward to meeting you.

Leave a comment